Professor Eleanor A Bourke

Professor Eleanor Bourke is a Wergaia/Wamba Wamba Elder and is Chair of the Yoo-rrook Justice Commission.

Professor Bourke has held executive positions in community, state and federal government agencies. She was a co-chair of Reconciliation Victoria for three years, board member for the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council for 12 years and a board member of Native Title Services Victoria. In 2005, Professor Bourke participated in Victoria’s first positive native title determination for the Wotjobaluk, Wergaia, Jardwa, Jardwajarli and Japagulk peoples.

Professor Bourke has had an extensive career in academia. She was a Professor of Aboriginal and Islander Studies and Director of Aboriginal Programs at Monash University. She was also previously an Associate Professor and Director of the Aboriginal Research Institute in the University of South Australia. She was inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll for Women in 2010 and the Victorian Aboriginal Honour Roll in 2019.

Professor Bourke has previously provided strategic guidance and advice to the former Victorian Treaty Advancement Commissioner, Jill Gallagher AO, in supporting the establishment of the First Peoples’ Assembly of Victoria.

Sign-up to our newsletter